#LMG 12×12 Play! 

Creative arts is a complex process…. And inspiration can strike when one least expects. 😉

So I have just started my scrapbooking journey after being a paperholic/stationary addict for as long as I can remember… A beautiful picture of my daughter inspired me to begin my very first scrapbook layout..and here is how I made it.

The Jumping Off Point – My #LittleMissGorgeous (#LMG)’s polka dot green cardigan and the bright colors of the slide were the inspiration of the color palette of this layout. 

The Base Kit – Looking at the colors, the Simple Stories Sn@p! Life kit (that I bought a month ago from steals.com while visiting my sister in US) seemed to be the perfect match!    

 

The Background – I’ve seen loads of YouTube process vids with white backgrounds and they look lovely – however this particular picture was calling out for a brighter color… And so I picked up this mustardy (is that a color?!) AC textured cardstock and my only two Tim Holtz Distress Stain Ink blotters in Peeled paint (a green!) and Picked Raspberry (a pink!)… I was actually going to just do a few blotches here and there but once I began at one corner I just kept going till I recached the diagonal center of the page. Then I picked up the next color and repeated the process from the opposite corner and voila!!!   

Bringing it all together – the rest was just layering the photo with a plain cardstock and then the bright Polka one from the Sn@p! Life kit. I picked a beautiful card from the Becky Higgins Project Life Kit – can’t remember whether it’s the baby girl kit or Super cute… But it just was a cute match. I also have a huge stash of MME‘s die cuts in multi colors – that’s where I found the heart and tag layered under the Studio Calico wood veneer “PLAY”! And finished with a few tiny word stickers from Authentique and enamel dots!    

   

Design Principles – The corner cluster with the banners and embellishes was my way of balancing out the page. It had the same colors as it was from the same Sn@p! life kit.   

If you have read this far, thank you for visiting my blog. 

Here is the final layout. What do you think?

 

Leave a Reply

